THE LANDSCAPED SPACE OF HISTORIC CENTER OF AIZPUTE
Historically, Aizpute was first mentioned in the records in the middle of the 13th century. The Order of Livonia, the existence of the Duchy of Courland until the end of the 18th century, and the time of the Courland Governorate until 1918 have produced a very significant overlaying of the landscape space of the town. The river Tebra which enriches the landscape of the town has historically served as the border river between the Bishopric of Courland and the State of the Livonian Order. In turn, in the second half of the 19th century, a dike is constructed on the river and the historic centre acquires a vast waterfront - a mill lake. The left bank as the bluff with the ancient castle, manor brewery, the master’s house, and roadside pub form a distinct silhouette of the cultural and historic landscape. Unfortunately, the expressiveness of the silhouette is reduced by a chaotic clumps of trees and a well-considered thinning is required for the existing trees. In summer, when trees sprout their leaves, the main sight lines are hidden. The most picturesque sight lines can be found on both banks of the river along the mill lake. The accessibility to this site remains an unresolved issue. This is one of the first tasks to be carried out in the development plan of the local authority. The scale of the historical building and the trees is particularly well comparable with the photographic material of archives. When researching each of the above sites of the old building in detail, the blue-green structures on both banks of the river Tebra .